Idling Laws at a Glance

Idling Laws at a Glance

Idling laws vary by state and a majority of the time, because of these laws, truck companies end up spending loads of money. But first, what is idling you ask? Vehicle idling happens when a vehicle is left running when it’s still in park. Did you know that idling can use up to a gallon of fuel within an hour’s time? Idling also increases the carbon footprint, therefore, the idling laws came about. In California, the maximum idling time is 5 minutes with a fine minimum of $50, while in Colorado, the maximum idling time is 5 minutes within any 1 hour with a maximum fine of $1,000 and/or 1 year imprisonment.

Map showing idling laws by state

Truck companies suffer and pay the most money for these idling fines when owners don’t invest in APUs for trucks. Having a generator for every truck a fleet company has is important due to the fact that an APU allows drivers to turn off their engines and still enjoy the comforts of utilities that require the engine to be in order to still operate. By investing in an APU generator, truck companies no longer have to worry about idling laws and they’re saving money on fuel as well.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *